Who Am I?

by Clifford Townsend

When most people are asked what they are, they usually answer in terms of what they do for a living. “I am a doctor.” “I am an accountant.” “I am a teacher,” and so forth. Usually when you dig deeper below the surface, they will reveal what they truly want to be. “I am a teacher, but I am starting my own business.” “I am a doctor, but I have always wanted to write a book.”

It is very easy to claim something that we already are. But when it’s something that we want to become, our limiting belief system kicks in and will not allow us to claim it. It makes us think that it’s something that we may never achieve, and it fools us into believing that’s it’s protecting us by not setting us up for failure.

What your limiting belief system will not allow you to know  is the truth, but I will. The truth is, if you do not claim it, you will never achieve it. If you do not claim it, you cannot bring yourself to believe that it is possible. Without the belief in your dream, it is like Marcus Garvey said: “If you have no confidence in self, you are twice defeated in the race of life.”

So the next time that you find yourself in a situation where someone ask you who you are, make a bold statement. Think about your dream. Claim it by stating, “I am. . .” and then insert your dream.  When you claim your dream by stating “I am. . . ,” it gives you power over your limiting belief system.

Just in case you’re wondering, who am I? I am Cliff Townsend, America’s No. 1 Hope Dealer; Author, Speaker and Success Coach.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

